Nappies. The choices!

I want to use ‘real’ nappies – ie reusable ones. I’ve never really considered that we might use disposables – I guess because my parents used old fashioned Terry’s squares with all of us, and my sister used cloth nappies with both of her children, so it seems like the norm to me.

I like the fact they are softer on the baby’s skin – would you really opt for paper pants over cotton ones for yourself? They save money in the long run, are meant to help with potty training, and are better for the environment – yes, even taking into account the additional water and electricity needed to wash them.

But the choices! Wow!

As much as I love google, in this case, I didn’t know where to begin. Somebody then recommended The Nappy Lady, guru of all things related to cloth nappies! Her website in itself is hugely informative and I was relieved to see that products have moved on significantly since the days of large squares of cotton towelling to try and fold, and giant nappy pins that seem lethal when combined with the flailing limbs of an uncooperative infant. Nappies now are usually shaped, elasticated even, with poppers and velcro. Hurrah! They even come in pretty colours… this was immediately looking like it might be an expensive addiction.

Lovely colourful prints available!

The Nappy Lady offers an amazing advice service – all for free! I had to fill in a comprehensive questionnaire including information about:

  • Whether I had children already
  • Whether I planned to have more children in the future (to use cloth nappies with)
  • Laundry facilities
  • Priorities of nappy features – eg quick drying, non-leaking, aesthetics, ease of use, natural fabrics – all of which I had to rate in order of priority

I then got a detailed recommendation list back, explaining not only what she suggested would suit us as a family the best, but why. The recommendations I have received are (in brief):

  • Bamboozle Stretch – these are the main nappy bit, with elasticated legs for better fit and reduction of leaks, and as they are all shaped they are supposedly easy to put on.
  • Motherease Rikki Wraps – these are the waterproof outer layer to put over the main nappy.
  • Triple-layer boosters – basically cloth pads to pop inside the nappy, particularly overnight, for extra absorbency.
  • Bumgenius Freetime – all-in-one nappy (not a 2-parter) for daytime use only – they’re not as good absorbency / containment wise, but would be easy to put on when out and about or for the in-laws who are pro-disposables.

Lots to think about, more research to be done, and excuses for shopping lie ahead!

Leave a comment